SPAR gsport Awards finalists announced

Award season in sporting circles is well and truly upon us. The SA Sports Awards have just passed, on Thursday is the SAB Sports Media Awards and opening on Wednesday is the voting opens for the SPAR gsport Awards. You can vote on from the 7th – 17th November with the awards ceremony being held on the 20th November. As I am going to be taking part in the vote and I am a blog, so I thought I’d share who will get my vote. Now please note, this is my vote, not who you should vote for, the important thing is that you vote and we celebrate the success of these great women in sport! 
SPAR Athlete of the Year:
Bridgitte Hartley (Rowing)
Marsha Marescia (Hockey)
Caster Semenya (Athletics)
Jabu’s Vote: My vote will be going to Bridgitte Hartley. We interviewed her after her success at the Olympics and I think for me she slightly shades the other two as she was not expected to win anything at the Olympics, but still brought home the bronze. 

 Athlete of the Year with Disability:
Ilse Carstens (Athletics)
Natalie du Toit (Swimming)
Kgothatso Montjane (Wheelchair Tennis)
Jabu’s Vote: I think all three of these ladies are fantastic ambassadors for sport and are outstanding individuals. My vote will go for the lady who is on her way to enjoy her retirement, the 13 time paralympic gold medalist, du Toit.
Up and Coming Athlete of the Year:
Tasnim Amra (Chess)
Thato Makhafola (Athletics)
Lauren Varty (Cycling)
Jabu’s Vote: Although I do not know too much about the three ladies, as a previous provincial chess player, I am so thrilled that Tasnim has been included. I will give the young lady from Kwazulu Natal my vote!
Coach of the Year:
Elize Kotze (Netball)
Yashin Ebrahim (Cricket)
Joseph Mkhonza (Football)
Jabu’s Vote: After I gave Mr Mkhonza a little bit of stick for winning the SA Sports Awards coach of the year, he has done a fantastic job with Banyana and would definitely get my vote if Banyana went on to win the African Nations Cup they are busy playing in. That being said, I wont know that tomorrow when I vote and my vote will go to Elize for the growth and strength we have seen in the Netball side.
Woman in Media:
Natalie Germanos (Cricket)
Tarryn Steenekamp (Rugby)
Carol Tshabalala (Football)
Jabu’s Vote:These three ladies are incredible to follow and listen to. Tarryn so nearly gets my vote, but for all the days that I have listened to Natalie commentating on Radio 2000 while at work or driving home, she will definitely get my vote! 
Style Star of the Year:
LeAnne Dlamini
Lalla Hirayama
Jo-Ann Strauss
Jabu’s Vote:This doesnt really have anything to do with sport, so if possible I wont vote. If I have to vote, I will ask my fiance which lady should get it! 
Woman of the Year:
Venessa Clack (Pole Fitness)
Natalie du Toit (Swimming)
Sue Pather (Cricket)
Jabu’s Vote:No disrespect to the other two, but after the service Natalie has given us and the achievements she has had, as well as the growth that she garnered for disabled sport, Natalie is definitely my vote. 
Volunteer of the Year:
Anela Mahamba (All sport)
Faiek Cassiem (Football)
Anelda Swart (Cycling)
This category is not open to public vote and will be decided by the judges. 
Previous Winners of the Awards
Penny Heyns (inaugural gsport Hall of Fame inductee)2007 winners:
Hazel Gumede (2007 gsport Hall of Fame inductee)
Lesley Copeman (2007 gsport Woman of the Year)
Melinda Lombard (2007 gsport Woman in Media)
Vanya Mangaliso (2007 gsport Style Star)
Portia Modise  (2007 gStar Award)
Ilse Langhout (2007 gsport Volunteer of the Year)

2008 winners:
Elana Meyer (2008 gsport Hall of Fame inductee)
Beaulah Schoeman (2008 gsport Woman of the Year)
Renelle Naidoo (2008 gsport Woman in Media)
Tanya van Graan (2008 gsport Style Star)
Tarryn Chudleigh (2008 gStar Award)
Mpho Makhoba (2008 Personal Account Writer of the Year)
Bronwyn Chudleigh (2008 gsport Volunteer of the Year)

2009 winners:
Desiree Ellis (2009 gsport Hall of Fame Inductee)
Mbali Zantsi (2009 gsport Woman of the Year)
Beverley Maphangwa (2009 gsport Woman in Media)
Uyanda Mbuli (2009 gsport Style Star)
Noni Tenge (2009 gStar Award)
Clare Vale  (2009 Personal Account Writer of the Year)
Lunga Ntuli (2009 gsport Volunteer of the Year)

2010 winners:
Motlatsi Keikabile (2010 gsport Hall of Fame Inductee)
Sandy Flanagan (2010 gsport Woman of the Year)
Natalie le Clue (2010 gsport Woman in Media)
Bonang Matheba (2010 gsport Style Star)
Rosy Hodge (2010 gStar Award)
Fabienne Lanz (2010 Personal Account Writer of the Year) (2010 gsport Volunteer of the Year)

2011 winners:
Dorothy Tsotsobe (2011 gsport Hall of Fame Inductee)
Dr Sherylly Calder (2011 gsport Woman of the Year)
Melissa Reddy (2011 gsport Woman in Media)
Shashi Naidoo (2011 gsport Style Star)
Pietie Coetzee (2011 gStar Award)
Surfing South Africa (2011 Sports Federation of the Year)
SPAR (2011 Sponsor of the Year)
Masalang Moshaisa (2011 gsport Volunteer of the Year)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *