Jabu’s Thoughts on the Bafana Squad

Bafana Afcon 3

Gordon Igesund today announced the Bafana Bafana Squad that will play the Central African Republic in a World Cup Qualifier on 23 March 2013. Although Gordon has tried to make as few changes from the AFCON squad as possible.

Here are the guys missing out:
Bongani Khumalo – has been left out due to squad inactivity in Greece, I personally think with Morgan Gould fit now, he might struggle to get back in.
Katlego Mphela – After his less than superb AFCON and subsequent lack of form in the PSL, Killer has been left out of the squad.
Siboniso Gaxa – Essentially seen as back-up to Ngcongca, Gaxa has been left out even though fit
Thulani Serero – The midfielder had an average AFCON after coming back from injury and will rightfully be left out to recover properly.
Lehlohonolo Majoro – Currently injured, obviously excluded

Bafana Afcon 4

The new additions to the Squad:
Morgan Gould – Was injured for AFCON, obvious choice to come straight back in. Only surprise is that he isnt named the skipper.
Siyanda Xulu – The Russian based defender has had a solid year and strengthens the depth in the central defensive positions.
Daylon Claasen – The midfielder has had a long time out through injury and may just be included to be part of the squad
Daine Klate – Probably the best Orlando Pirates player in the recent blip. The winger is quick and has a good crossing ability
Dino Ndlovu – The Israel-based hitman is the top South African striker in Europe, he scores regularly and it was time he got a call up.


The Bafana Squad:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Wayne Sandilands (Sundowns), Senzo Meyiwa (Orlando Pirates)

Defender: Morgan Gould (Kaizer Chiefs), Siyabonga Sangweni (Orlando Pirates), Thabo Nthethe (Bloemfontein Celtic), Anele Ngcongca (Racing Genk), Siyanda Xulu (Rostov FC), Tsepo Masilela (Kaizer Chiefs), Thabo Matlaba (Orlando Pirates)

Midfielders: Kagisho Dikgacoi (Crystal Palace), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic), Reneilwe Letsholonyane (Kaizer Chiefs), Oupa Manyisa (Orlando Pirates), May Mahlangu (Helsingborg), Daylon Claasen (Lierse), Lerato Chabangu (Swallows), Thuso Phala (Platinum Stars), Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs), Daine Klate (Orlando Pirates)

Strikers: Bernard Parker (Kaizer Chiefs), Dino Ndlovu (Maccabi Haifa), Tokelo Rantie (Malmo FF).

The match will be played on Saturday, 23 March 2013 at the Cape Town Stadium. Kick-off 8:15pm.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *