The South African Hockey Boys U18 Squad

photo_1048_20120409The U18 Hockey Inter Provincial Tournament has just reached its conclusion in Bloemfontein. The Boys section has been won by the KZN Inland side who beat Northern Gauteng, who had shocked Western Province in the Semi-final with a come from behind 2-1 win,  in the final 3-1.

The final was a quality game that underlined the strength of SA Hockey’s pipeline. Brad Sherwood put Inland one up with a penalty stroke after James Redfern’s penalty corner hit a Northerns foot on the line. The Inland side, who themselves caused an upset of sorts as they beat defending champions Boland in the semi-finals, took a 2-0 lead when Lethu Mthembu capitalised through a penalty corner. Inland then cemented their status as lethal from set pieces as a Michael Forrest produced a drag flick that would have made Justin Reid-Ross proud. Northerns pulled one goal back, but their efforts in the Semi-Final seemed to drain them for the final and the Inland side are the champions.

At the completion of the tournament, held at the University of Free State Astro, the following awards were announced:

Best Goalkeeper – Sanele Magoso (KZN Inland)

Best Defender – Andrew Hobson (Boland)

Best Midfielder – Mark Chong (Northern Gauteng)

Best Forward – Dayaan Cassiem (Western Province)

Most valuable player – Andrew Hobson (Boland)

To round it off, the South African Under 18 team was announced and will take part in an International U18 series later in the year. The team to selected were as follows:

1 Spencer Botes Southern Gauteng
2 Franco Carstens Boland
3 Jared Cass KZN Coastal
4 Dayaan Cassiem Western Province
5 Mark Chong Northern Gauteng
6 Jean du Plessis South Western Districts
7 William Eveleigh Boland
8 Che February Western Province
9 Michael Forrest KZN Inland
10 Andrew Hobson Boland
11 Sanele Magoso KZN Inland
12 Chris Makaba Southern Gaiteng
13 Jesse Martin Southern Gauteng
14 Sam Mvimbi South Western Districts
15 Andile Ndlovu KZN Inland
16 Tim Nefdt KZN Inland
17 Max Pike Western Province
18 Ross Vides Eastern Province

All Things Jabu would like to congratulate all those selected and we look forward to watching the continued growth of SA Hockey.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *