The SA U21 squad for the Junior Hockey World Cup

SA Hockey (4)
Photo – Sean Burke

The South African U21, led by the brilliant Garreth Ewing, will be heading to the FIH Junior Hockey World Cup in India in December after qualifying at the African Qualifier earlier this year. In the previous edition of the tournament  in 2013, South Africa finished in 12th place just one position behind the best finish of 11th which was achieved in 2001. Ewing and his team will be looking to push into the top 10 this time around.

The selection process started in April last year at the Senior IPT and has culminated in the final 18 being selected for the National squad. This included a historic and incredibly unlikely run to the Senior IPT final where they fell short at the hands of hosts Southern Gauteng. On the make up of the team, Ewing shared:

SA Hockey (2)
Image was sourced from Facebook. First posted by Bishops Hockey

“I’m reasonably pleased that this group have had good exposure during the selection phase at both the senior SA Interprovincial Nationals tournament as well as the Junior World Cup Africa Qualifier Tournament that took place earlier this year. I’m looking forward to the next phase of preparation and rising to the challenge of raising the necessary funds for the JWC tournament.”

The SA U21 side will take on the likes of Argentina, Canada, Australia and Spain in a test of the future of SA Hockey. Many of the players included have tasted various degrees of success in big tournament environment of late with UJ winning the Varsity Cup and Maties winning the recently completed USSA tournament. Those two teams count for 8 out of the 18 selected and Ewing will be hoping that the winning mentality is built within the team.

SA Hockey (3)
Photo – Sean Burke

SA U21 Junior World Cup men’s team

1.  Robert McKinley WP
2. Siya Nolutshungu KZN
3. Kyle Lion-Cachet SG
4. Courtney Hallé SG
5. Jayson Reed KZN
6. Tylo Remke KZN
7. Ryan Julius WP
8. Matthew De Sousa WP
9. Charles Bowren WP
10. Alex Stewart WP
11. Nduduzo Lembethe NG
12. Tyson Dlungwana SG
13. Khumo Mokale  NG
14. Ryan Crowe SG
15. Nqobile Ntuli KZN
16. Walter Pfaff WP
17. Tevin Kok NG
18. Amkelwe Letuka SG

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *