Celebrating 11 years of gsport

On the 1 August 2006, gsport was launched by husband and wife duo Kass Naidoo and Ryk Meiring. The purpose of the venture was to raise the profile of South African women in sport, and to encourage Corporate South Africa to back our female athletes. Through the resulting 11 years gsport has developed into an incredible brand in itself.

The first gsport Awards were launched on the same date and have since become a household name and a fabric of the South African sporting environment. In celebrating the birthday of the great South African initiative, I thought I would share the previous inductees into the gsport hall of fame.

Penny Heyns (2006) – Swimming

Hazel Gumede (2007) – Netball

Elana Meyer (2008) – Athletics

Desiree Ellis (2009) – Football

Motlatsi Keikabile (2010) – Sports Administration

Dorothy Tsotsobe (2011) – Rugby

Muditambi Ravele (2012) –  Women in Sport initiative / Netball

Frith van der Merwe (2013) – Running

Tinky Pringle (2014) – Sports Broadcasting

Natalie du Toit (2015) – Swimming

Cheryl Roberts (2016) – Sports activist and publisher

The gsport awards for 2017 will take place on the 26 August where another name will be added to this incredible list of heroes of South African Women in sport. This is all thanks to the brilliance of Kass, Ryk and all those behind the scenes at gsport.

From all of us at Sports 24 Seven happy birthday and thank you for your incredible work in promoting women in sport in South Africa!

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *